10th Annual Walk for a New Spring (2/18/2011)

Hooray! I have finally joined up with the walk. I’m so excited to be with my walking family again. Some construction work on my bathroom was the cause of delay in joining up with the walk, but I have finally made it.

Today was not a very long day. My father and I met up with everyone as they pulled into the Mount Wachusett Community College parking lot. We drummed and chanted to the entrance of the school, and met up with Tom Matsuda and some of his art students, including an old friend of mine, Kevin.

It was nice to be back in the Mount, but I wish more of my friends could have been there. Anyway, we went into the cafe for lunch and had a small conversation about what peace means to us, community, and life I guess.

After the Mount we all walked to the big chair and I gave a very brief, mostly inaccurate history of Chair city. We walked to the end of the road, and all got into the cars at Dunkin Donuts to drive to Fitchburg.

In Fitchburg we walked for about 20 minutes, and then stopped at the Fitchburg Art Museum to meet our host for the night. The man who would be hosting us was named Mr. Timms. He was grand.

Apparently someone had just recently died, so he had to run off to the wake before he drove us to his house for the evening.

The Fitchburg Art Museum completely took me by surprise. It has a Greek and Roman collection, an Asian collection, African collection, and an Egyptian installation that has 2 mummies. Also, in the Egyptian room is one of the 6 molds made by some frenchman of the original Rosetta Stone. I guess the original, original is located in the British Museum.

After the museum we all drove to Ashburnham for the evening. I went with Cap’n Bullock to bring my father back home, and came back here for dinnerr!

c’estmagnifique<3
Tomorrow we go to Worcester. Wish us dry weather.

One thought on “10th Annual Walk for a New Spring (2/18/2011)

Leave a Reply

